Topic: Rotorua's Fifteenth Borough Council 1959-1962

Topic type:

A list of Members

Mayor : A. M. Linton

Elected Members :

  • P. H. Leonard
  • K. S. Calder
  • K. M. Cairns
  • G. R. E. Day
  • J. B. Wilson
  • R. Campbell
  • R. L. Reeder
  • F. C. Salt
  • I. D. Mathias

Following the extension of the Borough boundaries in 1960, the Council passed a resolution by way of a special order increasing the number of councillors to 12. 

In the meantime Cr Day died, an election was then held to fill 4 seats : Elected New Members were ; D. M. Stafford, J.A.B Hellaby, C. K. Lowe and J. A. Haynes.

Cr J. B. Wilson died early in December 1960 and a further by-election was necessary. On February 4th 1961 Cr F. G. Ryan was elected.

Cr J. A. Haynes died in November 1961.... the Council decided by resolution pursuant to the Local Election and Polls Amendment Act, 1961 that the extraordinary vacancy caused by Cr. Haynes death should not be filled.

A sad term for this Council losing not one but 3 of it's membership!


Information quoted is from the Daily Post, City Celebration Commemorative Issue 25 January 1963.


Discuss This Topic

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion