Topic: Honoured by King and Queen the early years

Topic type:

Rotorua People honoured for public and community service 1918 - 1969

2nd. Lieutentant Leonard Poulter LEARY. 1918 MC see also CMG 1973
Miss Robina Thomson CAMERON. District Health Nurse 1938 MBE
Henry Tai MITCHELL. For services on behalf of the Native Races 1939 CBE
Thomas DURRANT. 1939 MBE, DSO, TD, JP see also CBE 1976
Commander Ronald H. DEWHURST 1940 DSO & 2 BARS
Dr Cyril J AUSTIN. 1942 OBE see also CBE 1954
Lieutenant-Colonel Donald G. STEELE. 1942 OBE
Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Moihi BENNETT. 1943 DSO see also KBE 1975
Martin Te Takahe McRAE 1943 MBE see also 1944 DCO
Wing Commander Reginald James GIBBS, JP 1944 OBE
Air Commander Theodore Jasper MacLean DE LANGE 1944 DFC see also 1965 CBE
Tuoro TANGO Esq. For services in connection with Maori patriotic activities at Rotorua 1945 CBE
Mrs Mary Karaka WAITOTI. For Patriotic and Social Welfare services 1945 MBE
Mrs Beryl Inez ELLIS 1946 MBE
Raharuhi PURURU Esq. For services to Maori 1947 OBE
Edith Ngaio MARSH. For services in connection with Drama and Literature in New Zealand 1948 OBE -- also awarded DBE in 1966
Wilfred Stanley WALLIS Esq. M.B., Ch. B. For services to Returned Servicemen 1948 OBE
Miss Marie Louise Dansey ILES. Dominion Secretary to NZ Guides Assn. 1948 MBE -- see also OBE 1971
Dr Eric Hattaway BRIDGMAN. Superintendant of Rotorua Hospital 1949 OBE
Flt Lt Stanley George THOMPSON 1949 MBE (Mil)
Mr Harold Galt DICKIE. For Public & Local Government Services 1952 OBE
William Langston NEWNHAM 1952 CBE
Squadron Leader Trevelyan W. TREMAYNE 1952 MBE
Mr Henry Te Reiwhaiti VERCOE, DSO, DCM. Chairman of the Arawa Trust Board 1951-1954 1953 OBE
Mrs Rangitiaria DENNAN (Guide Rangi). Prominent Guide in the Rotorua district and for services to the Tourist Movement 1956 OBE see also 1953 Queen's Coronation Medal
Mr Karauria Tiweka (Claude) ANARU 1957 OBE, see also 1953 Queen's Coronation Medal and 1998 DCNZM.
Dr Archie Turner McLeod BLAIR. Medical Practitioner at Queen Elizabeth Hospital 1957 OBE
Lt. Col. Raymond F. SMITH 1958 OBE (Mil), ED 1957
Mr Edward Grace GUY. For services to Journalism 1959 OBE
Mrs Ruia Mereana DAVY. (nee Morrison) For services to Sport especially Tennis 1959 OBE
Neil Buchanan HUNT. Chairman of Rotorua County Council 1960 MBE see also Queen's Coronation Medal 1953.
Hone Te Kauru TAIAPA Esq. For Cultural Services to Maori esp. in the field of Wood Carving 1960 OBE
Walter Godfrey BOWEN Esq. Chief Shearing Instructor to the NZ Wool Board. 1960 OBE
Rev. Father Leo DOWNEY. 1960 OBE
Squadron Leader O. STAPLE AFC 1960 OBE
Helen DOWNER. For services to the Kindergarten Movement. 1961 MBE
Constance Egmont TULLOCH. For services to Social Welfare. 1961 MBE see also OBE 1971
The Reverend Pakake Heketoro LEONARD, of Rotorua. For services to the Maori people. 1961 MBE
The Honorable Sir Frank Leon Aroha GOTZ 1963 KCVO
Te Rangiatahua Kiniwe ROYAL. For services to Maori 1963 OBE
Mr Oswald Henry COLEMAN. Member of the Rotorua Borough Council. 1963 OBE
Air Commander Arthur Percy GAINSFORD, DSO, DFC, AFC 1963 OBE see also DFC 1942, DSO 1945, AFC 1944 and 1953 Queen's Coronation Medal
Mr Ivor PRICHARD. JP, LLB, Chief Judge of the Maori Land Court 1964 CBE
Matina MAKIHA Esq. for service to Maori 1964 OBE
Mr Alister Murray LINTON. Mayor of Rotorua 1965 CBE
Air Commodore Theodore J. MacLEAN DE LANGE 1966 CBE, see also DFC 1944, Queens Coronation Medal 1953
Mrs Audrey Alice Hastings ALEXANDER 1966 OBE
Mr Raniera Te Tawhiti (Dan) KINGI. For services to the Maori people, particularly as Secretary of the Arawa Trust Board.  1966 OBE
Elizabeth B. ORBELL. For services to Nursing. 1966 CBE
Rev. William W. GREENSLADE. For Community services especially in connection with the Methodist Church of NZ 1967 MBE
Dr Allan NORTH. M.B. Ch.B. For services to medicine and Maori. 1967 MBE
Peter Wilfred TAPSELL. For service to Medicine and Maori.  1968 MBE see also KNZM 1996
Neil Francis PACHOUD. For services to local Youth Organisations. 1968 BEM
Mrs Jean Caroline LODGE. For services to the Community and Sport especially Basketball (Kurungaituku Tournament 1933-1980) 1969 MBE
Mr David KENNEDY. Conservator of Forests, New Zealand Forestry Service 1969 ISO
Robert Steele MARTIN, JP. County Engineer of Rotorua. 1969 MBE
Mr Eric Priar NISBET. For services as a Sporting Coach, especially Swimming 1969 BEM
Mr William Harold SHARP. Assistant Commissioner of Police. NZ Police. 1969 QPM see also KBE 1974

 Information above is verified in the London Gazette

Discuss This Topic

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion